Submissions to Tahoma Literary Review are now open. Our reading period runs from September 7 to October 31. 


Our response time is between one and three months. Previous contributors to the Tahoma Literary Review should wait one full reading period after publication of their work before submitting to us again. Please submit only once per reading period. 


We ask for first North American serial rights; all rights revert to the author upon publication. We may ask to reprint work on our website, and authors may post audio files of their accepted work.


We pay $50 for flash prose and short poems; $125 for longer prose and poems.


When your submission is complete you will be redirected to the TLR Shop, where you can download a digital copy of our current issue for free.


General Guidelines (see individual categories for more information):

  • All submissions should be made via Submittable. If this limitation presents an accessibility issue, please contact the editors to arrange for an alternative submission method. 
  • We do not accept previously published material. This includes publication in any public venue, including print, web, and personal blogs.
  • We welcome simultaneous submissions: let us know if your work is accepted elsewhere. If your work is taken by another journal while it is still under consideration at TLR, use our contact form or Submittable's Withdraw notice to let us know and we will allow you a free submission.
  • Please wait to hear back from us before submitting again.
  • At this time, we do not publish plays, screenplays, translations, or reviews.
  • Cover letters are welcome, and we enjoy reading them. (In nonfiction, they are read them after the submission is read.) But don’t tell us what your submission is about, tell us what you’re about.
  • All prose submissions should be double-spaced, use Times or Times New Roman font, 12-point type with one inch margins. Word and PDF files only, please. Please put your name and contact information on the first page of your submission, and your last name and page number on subsequent pages. 
  • For fiction submissions, please submit one short story or novel excerpt between 1,500 and 10,000 words. Novel excerpts may be under contract with a publisher or agent for future publication. In such cases, we will need written permission from the contractor before publication in TLR.
  • For nonfiction submissions, please submit one nonfiction piece of between 1,500 and 6,000 words.
  • For poetry submissions, please submit 3 to 6 poems in a single document. There are no length restrictions for individual poems. 
  • For flash (fiction or nonfiction) submissions, please submit 1 to 2 pieces in a single document. The word limit is 1,500 total.
  • The fee to submit poetry and flash is $4. The fee to submit fiction and nonfiction is $5. If these submission fees present a hardship, please contact us and we will try to help.
  • Feedback options are available for prose submissions; a submission that includes the feedback option is $7 for fiction and nonfiction, and $6 for flash. 
  • A full critique is available for fiction submissions. Cost is  $45-$75, depending on length.
  • In every category, consider the reader. 
Ends on October 31, 2017$5.00
$5.00

What we’re looking for in Fiction

  • We like stories that offer imaginative premises, unusual or marginalized characters, and high stakes.
  • Show us characters driven by lifetimes of experience and complex motivations.
  • Experimental writing is also welcome.
  • We are not reading children’s or YA literature at this time.
  • Word limit for fiction is 1,500 to 10,000 words.

Feedback 
For an extra $2, a TLR editor will provide direct feedback on your manuscript. "Feedback," for the purposes of TLR submissions, comprises concise notes on what's working and what isn't working for your story or essay. At times, the feedback may be two lines; it may be a paragraph or two. But it will always be actionable.

See our Fiction with Feedback category for details. 

Full Critiques
In fiction we also offer a full critique of your manuscript from a highly qualified reader. You will receive an editorial letter that details your submission’s strengths and weaknesses and potential editorial next steps.

We vet our readers carefully, and have chosen those who are gifted at and enthusiastic about the critique process. They are paid a significant portion of the full-critique fee. Comparable critiques from independent editors can cost over $100.

See our Full Critiques for Fiction category for details.

Ends on October 31, 2017$7.00
$7.00
Feedback on your submission
For an extra $2, a TLR editor will provide direct feedback on your manuscript. "Feedback," for the purposes of TLR submissions, comprises concise notes on what's working and what isn't working for your story or essay. At times, the feedback may be two lines; it may be a paragraph or two. But it will always be actionable.

Full critiques
In fiction we also offer a full critique of your manuscript from a highly qualified reader. You will receive an editorial letter that details your submission’s strengths and weaknesses and potential editorial next steps. 

See our Full Critiques for Fiction section for details.

What we’re looking for in Fiction

  • We like stories that offer imaginative premises, unusual or marginalized characters, and high stakes.
  • Show us characters driven by lifetimes of experience and complex motivations.
  • Experimental writing is also welcome.
  • We are not reading children’s or YA literature at this time.
  • Word limit is 1,500 to 10,000 words.
Use the option below to submit your story and receive feedback. 





Ends on October 31, 2017$45.00 - 75.00
$45.00 - 75.00
The Full Critique

In fiction, we offer a full critique of your submission from a highly qualified reader. We vet these readers carefully, and have chosen those who are gifted at and enthusiastic about the critique process. They are paid a significant portion of the full-critique fee. 

With a full critique you will receive an editorial letter that details your submission’s strengths and weaknesses and potential editorial next steps. 

If your story is:

  • 1-1,499 words (i.e., flash fiction), the price for a full critique is $45.
  • 1,500 to 4,999 words, the price for a full critique is $55.
  • 5,000 to 7,499 words, the price for a full critique is $65.
  • 7,500-10,000 words, the price for a full critique is $75.

Here’s what recent submitters who chose the full critique had to say:

  • “Your comments inspired me to roll my sleeves back up and get to work. I didn’t realize this until now, but on some level I’ve been worrying about the very thing you pointed out.” – David Cameron
  • “Thank you for this incredibly helpful review of my work. You have helped me see how to pare down the content and pursue the central theme.” – Leia Menlove
  • “Thank you so much for your comprehensive and thoughtful critique of my story. You've given me much to think about. I appreciate your directness and candor and am eager to take on the challenges you've laid out.” – Barbara Shomaker

Our reader/reviewers are selected from a pool of writers who have demonstrated a keen desire to serve in this capacity. We firmly believe that strong critiquing skills contribute to strong writing skills, and we provide our reviewers with the tools and guidance we have gleaned over a combined 50 years of experience between TLR’s prose editors, Yi Shun Lai and Ann Beman.

Comparable critiques from independent editors can cost over $100. For all critique levels, should your story be accepted, you will be refunded up to the "submission with feedback" fee. 

No repeat submissions, please. 

As part of our commitment to a healthy literary community, we are strong believers in helping you improve your work, but we ask you to remember that editing is a highly subjective process. 

To receive a full critique, please select the appropriate category below.

Ends on October 31, 2017$5.00
$5.00

What we're looking for in Nonfiction

  • Be brave. Send us the stuff you never thought would get published anywhere. Send us the thing you have to take a deep breath over before submitting or running by your critique group.
  • We are always interested in hearing different viewpoints from different sectors of society, and work in different forms, too: we'll read lyrical essays; experimental essays; and narrative nonfiction.
  • Be professional. Polish your work; make sure it’s clean. Your word limit is 6,000 words. (It’s okay to swear in your work, though. That’s not the kind of “clean” we mean.) We won’t accept anything remotely misogynistic or bigoted.
  • Be concise. Ranting, raving, or emotive logorrhea were never good ways to get important ideas across, so leave those on the cutting-room floor. We believe in brevity, so if you have flash nonfiction, we are happy to read that, too.
  • We're not looking for: Book reviews, academic work, or cultural criticism. 
Feedback 

For an extra $2, a TLR editor will provide direct feedback on your manuscript. "Feedback," for the purposes of TLR submissions, comprises concise notes on what's working and what isn't working for your story or essay. At times, the feedback may be two lines; it may be a paragraph or two. But it will always be actionable. 

See our Nonfiction with Feedback category for details. 

Ends on October 31, 2017$7.00
$7.00
Feedback

For an extra $2, a TLR editor will provide direct feedback on your manuscript. "Feedback," for the purposes of TLR submissions, comprises concise notes on what's working and what isn't working for your story or essay. At times, the feedback may be two lines; it may be a paragraph or two. But it will always be actionable. 

What we're looking for in Nonfiction
  • Be brave. Send us the stuff you never thought would get published anywhere. Send us the thing you have to take a deep breath over before submitting or running by your critique group.
  • We are always interested in hearing different viewpoints from different sectors of society, and work in different forms, too: we'll read lyrical essays; experimental essays; and narrative nonfiction.
  • Be professional. Polish your work; make sure it’s clean. Your word limit is 6,000 words. (It’s okay to swear in your work, though. That’s not the kind of “clean” we mean.) We won’t accept anything remotely misogynistic or bigoted.
  • Be concise. Ranting, raving, or emotive logorrhea were never good ways to get important ideas across, so leave those on the cutting-room floor. We believe in brevity, so if you have flash nonfiction, we are happy to read that, too.
  • We're not looking for: Book reviews, academic work, or cultural criticism.
 

Ends on October 31, 2017$4.00
$4.00

What we're looking for in Poetry

  • Send us poems that show the deeper side of ordinary, the new or explosive word choice, ones that are monumental in rhythm or character, ones that are passionate in their message and conveyed with a mastery of the poetic image.
  • Alongside free verse, works that are formal, prose, or long form poems are also welcome.
  • Send 3-6 poems per submission; no more than one poem longer than 7 pages per submission. If a poem is ten pages or longer, please submit as a single poem.
Ends on October 31, 2017$4.00
$4.00
What we are looking for in Flash Fiction and Flash Nonfiction
 Pieces that combine the lyricism of poetry with the impact of short stories that surprise, challenge, and move the reader.
You may submit 1 or 2 pieces of flash fiction, with a total word count of 1,500.
 Please submit prose poems as Poetry.
We do not accept previously published material. This includes publication in any public venue, including print, web, and personal blogs.

Feedback Option
For an extra $2, a TLR editor will provide direct feedback on your manuscript. "Feedback," for the purposes of TLR submissions, comprises concise notes on what's working and what isn't working for your story or essay. At times, the feedback may be two lines; it may be a paragraph or two. But it will always be actionable.
See the Flash with Feedback category for details.

 Full Critiques (Fiction only) 
In Fiction, we offer a full-critique of your manuscript from a highly qualified reader. You will receive an editorial letter that details your submission’s strengths and weaknesses and potential editorial next steps.

See our Full Critiques for Fiction category for details.
Ends on October 31, 2017$6.00 - 6.00
$6.00 - 6.00
Feedback  
For an extra $2, a TLR editor will provide direct feedback on your manuscript. "Feedback," for the purposes of TLR submissions, comprises concise notes on what's working and what isn't working for your story or essay. At times, the feedback may be two lines; it may be a paragraph or two. But it will always be actionable. 

Full critiques (Fiction only) 
In Fiction we also offer a full critique of your manuscript from a highly qualified reader. You will receive an editorial letter that details your submission’s strengths and weaknesses and potential editorial next steps. 

See our Full Critiques for Fiction category for details.

What we are looking for in Flash Fiction and Flash Nonfiction 
 Pieces that combine the lyricism of poetry with the impact of short stories that surprise, challenge, and move the reader. 
  • You may submit 1 or 2 pieces of flash fiction, with a total word count of 1,500. 
  •  Please submit prose poems as Poetry. 
  • We do not accept previously published material. This includes publication in any public venue, including print, web, and personal blogs. 
Request feedback on your Flash submission below.